Windscribe Review

The freemium that actually respects you: a 10 GB free tier, transparent $9/$69 pricing with no renewal rug-pull, open-source Linux CLI, and a CEO who publicly fights surveillance bills and publishes the industry's most-cited ownership map. But its refund policy is the stingiest of the ten (7 business days, sub-10 GB, must prove a technical issue), the privacy policy is policy-only without an independent no-logs audit, and Canada's Bill C-22 has the company threatening to move HQ - watch that space.

2 red flagsfacts reported
6.2
no user ratings yet - be the first
Visit Windscribe Read full review outbound link - currently plain redirect, no affiliate parameters
Red flags (2):
  • Canadian lawful-access politics (Bill C-22) directly targeting VPNs - Windscribe publicly said it would pull out of Canada before complying; watch whether that promise holds
  • 2015-2016 era: Windscribe's early life in the affiliate-marketing heavy Toronto scene; cleaner since, but the founding DNA is marketing

// Review

by the vpncomparison editorial desk · review version 2 · prose updated 2026-09-28 · facts as of 2026-09-28 · how we verify

Honesty note: we have not run our own tests on Windscribe yet (leak tests, speed, kill switch). Everything on this page is source-based meta-research with dated links. When we test it, results appear here and on the change log.

Overview

Windscribe is a commercial VPN service based in Canada, active since 2015, offering a rare freemium tier with 10 GB/month and strong protocol support. It’s known for transparent pricing and fighting surveillance laws, but its no-logs claim rests on policy alone - no independent audit. While it’s survived real-world legal pressure without exposing user data, Canada’s Bill C-22 looms as a threat.

Logging & privacy

Windscribe claims it stores no historical connection logs, stating that “any request for user data would yield nothing of value.” This claim is backed by policy language and real-world tests: in 2021 and 2026, servers were seized (Ukraine, Netherlands), and in 2025, a co-founder was cleared in a Greek criminal case due to lack of logs. However, there’s no public, independent no-logs audit - evidence remains “policy-only.” Jurisdiction in Canada is concerning due to Bill C-22, though Windscribe has pledged to exit rather than comply. No warrant canary exists.

Pricing & the renewal trap

Windscribe charges $9/month monthly or $69/year ($5.75/month), with the yearly rate being the renewal price - no hidden increase. This flat renewal is rare and honest in a market full of teaser rates. However, refunds are nearly impossible: only within 7 business days, under 10 GB usage, and requiring proof of a technical issue. The free tier offers 10 GB/month with email confirmation. Payment options include credit card, PayPal, and cryptocurrency. The real 3-year cost is $207 if renewed annually.

Features & performance

Windscribe supports WireGuard, OpenVPN, IKEv2, and its proprietary Stealth protocol for obfuscation, along with WStunnel for evading deep packet inspection. It offers a kill switch, split tunneling, multihop, dedicated IPs, and supports P2P and streaming. Apps are available for Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, iOS, routers, and Fire TV. Servers span 69 countries, though exact server count is unverified. While feature-rich, we haven’t conducted independent performance tests - real-world speed and reliability remain unmeasured by us.

Ownership & track record

Ownership details are not publicly disclosed, a transparency gap. Windscribe’s founding ties to Toronto’s affiliate marketing scene raise early red flags, but it has since distanced itself, killing its affiliate program in 2021. It has faced server seizures in Ukraine (2021), the Netherlands (2026), and legal pressure in Greece (2025) - in each case, no user logs were produced, supporting its no-logs stance. Hacker News communities cite its ownership map as the industry reference, and users praise its pricing honesty. Data quality is reported, not independently verified.

Censorship resistance

Windscribe offers strong obfuscation via its Stealth protocol (OpenVPN over WebSocket/TLS on port 443 with padding) and WStunnel in desktop apps, making it viable for evading deep packet inspection. These tools are designed for use in censored environments, though there’s no public confirmation of consistent access in countries like China or Iran. Given its active obfuscation methods, it’s among the few providers with a plausible path into restricted networks - but success depends on ongoing cat-and-mouse dynamics with censors.

Verdict

Windscribe is a solid choice if you value a generous free tier, honest pricing, and a provider that’s stood up to legal pressure without breaking its no-logs promise. It’s not ideal if you need audit-backed privacy or a forgiving refund policy. Windscribe does not pay review sites - its affiliate program ended in 2021 - so most coverage today reflects organic user trust.

++ What holds up

  • Verified pricing: $9/mo, $69/yr, renewal = price (fetched 2026-09-27) - the second-most honest billing after Mullvad
  • Best free tier of the paid majors: 10 GB/month, build-a-plan $1/location
  • Published the VPN relationship map that shredded the industry's affiliate entanglement (673 pts on HN)
  • 69+ countries / 135+ cities stated on own homepage; strong streaming + R.O.B.E.R.T. ad-blocking

-- What to watch

  • Refund policy is adversarially narrow: 7 business days, <10 GB usage, technical-issue justification required (terms fetched 2026-09-27)
  • No published independent no-logs audit (as of 2026-09-27)
  • Canada jurisdiction + Bill C-22 backdoor pressure; CEO publicly mused about moving HQ (May 2026) - long-term jurisdiction uncertain

Pricing reality check

Intro price$5.75 /month · renews $5.75
Renewal price$5.75 1x intro
Refund window7 days

See the 3-year total next to the marketing number: true-cost calculator →

// The money trail - what review sites earn by recommending this

NO affiliate program - verified via none · published terms: n/a - affiliate program discontinued January 2021; personal referral program only (refer a friend who buys Pro, referrer gets the same Pro plan free)

Windscribe's own knowledge base: 'we discontinued the affiliate side of it in January 2021... the decision to end all paid marketing efforts, including affiliate marketing'; /upgrade/affiliate and /affiliate now serve shells/404s.

If we sign up for this program, every link here becomes rel="nofollow sponsored" and this box stays. Until then our links are plain redirects with zero tracking. Ranking logic physically cannot read affiliate fields - here is the proof.

Incident record (3)

  • 2026 Dutch authorities seize a Windscribe server - allegedly without a warrant Windscribe said Dutch law enforcement took one of its servers in early February 2026, which the company alleged happened without a warrant; source →
  • 2025 Windscribe co-founder cleared in Greek criminal case - no logs to give Windscribe's co-founder was criminally charged in Greece (via an INTERPOL MLAT) after one of its exit IPs was used to breach a server. The c source →
  • 2021 Windscribe servers seized in Ukraine - no user logs found Ukrainian authorities seized Windscribe servers in Kyiv over an abusive user. Servers were not full-disk encrypted (a real operational flaw source →

Before you pay: check the renewal price, the refund window, and whether a cheaper or free path covers your use case - the honest checklist.

Visit Windscribe or compare all VPNs →

// Windscribe FAQ

Is Windscribe legit?

Based on our checks as of 2026-09-28: Windscribe scores 6.2/10 in our weighted review. We logged 2 red flags (listed above). User reports, ownership and the incident record are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.

What do I actually get with Windscribe?

What is the renewal price, and what would I pay over three years?

What evidence supports Windscribe’s no-logs claim?

Does Windscribe work in censored countries like China or Iran?

Can I pay anonymously?

What happens if Windscribe shuts down?

What’s the honest free or cheap alternative?

// The meta-review: what the internet says about Windscribe

We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim - with their conflicts of interest labeled - what users report on Reddit and forums, and who actually operates Windscribe. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself.

// What other reviewers say (0)

Every source carries a conflict label from our review-site database. "Affiliate-funded" means the site earns money if you buy what it recommends. We include critical voices deliberately.

No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. For a VPN with no affiliate program that is normal - the affiliate-funded sites do not cover what does not pay.

// What users say (1)

Reddit, forums, HN - paraphrased and linked, never quoted out of context. Anecdotes, not proof - but refund complaints and leak reports are the best early-warning system this market has.

// AI fact summary - everything we know, compressed

Generated by Qwen3 on 2026-09-28 from our fact database plus the linked sources. It summarizes - it does not add facts. Check anything that matters against the linked sources.

Bottom line: Windscribe is active and technically solid, offering a generous 10 GB free tier and honest long-term pricing with no hidden renewal hikes. It supports streaming, P2P, and obfuscation, but its refund policy is extremely restrictive. Canada’s surveillance laws remain a live threat despite public resistance.

The logging truth: Windscribe claims no historical connection logs, and this has survived two legal incidents: a 2021 Ukraine server seizure and a 2025 Greek criminal case where no logs could be produced. However, there is no independent no-logs audit - evidence is policy-only and incident-tested, not audited. Jurisdiction is Canada, with active political pressure from Bill C-22.

Pricing reality: The advertised $5.75/month price is the actual renewal rate when paid yearly ($69/year), not a teaser - users confirm this. Monthly is $9. Refunds are only allowed within 7 business days, under 10 GB usage, and require proof of a technical issue, making it one of the strictest refund policies.

What reviewers say vs what users say: Affiliate reviews are absent - Windscribe killed its program in 2021 - so most praise comes from organic users and forums like Hacker News. Users consistently praise its transparent pricing and free tier, calling it trustworthy. Conflicts are minimal since there’s no affiliate-driven hype distorting the narrative.

Who runs it: Ownership is not publicly disclosed, but the company operates transparently with public stances on surveillance and infrastructure. It’s known for its CEO’s vocal opposition to Canadian surveillance bills and for publishing an influential ownership map of the VPN industry. No evidence links it to shady parent companies.

// Sources & how this review was built

Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact.

  1. community Hacker News - Windscribe - We'll move HQ and take our taxes elsewhere dated 2026-05-15 · fetched
  2. news Wikipedia - Windscribe - Wikipedia fetched
  3. news stateofsurveillance.org (via HN) - Canada's Bill C-22 Would Force Encryption Backdoors - VPN exit threats dated 2026-09-16 · fetched
  4. operator windscribe.com - Upgrade/pricing page fetched
  5. operator windscribe.com - Terms - Refunds section fetched
  6. operator windscribe.com - Privacy Policy fetched
  7. operator windscribe.com - Homepage (server locations claim) fetched

// Rate Windscribe

Community score: no ratings yet

One rating per user and provider. Smoothed display (statistical prior) prevents single-vote manipulation.

// User comments (0)

No comments yet - be the first. Posting runs a short proof-of-work in your browser (anti-spam), no account needed.

// Similar providers

Mullvad VPN

The most honest VPN on the internet, and in 2026 still the one this industry is measured against: numbered accounts, cash or Monero accepted, open-source client

8.9
court-proven no-logs audit open source crypto accepted
intro $5.71 /month
Sweden commercial vpn 7 h ago

IVPN

The anti-affiliate champion candidate holds up: no affiliate program (stated out loud on the homepage), flat honest pricing, quarterly warrant canary, annual th

8
audited canary open source crypto accepted
intro $6 /month
Gibraltar (IVPN Limited, registered in Gibraltar; founder/operated since 2009) commercial vpn 7 h ago

Private Internet Access

The best-evidenced no-logs claim in the business - twice tested in US courts (2016, 2018) and twice found to have nothing - plus the cheapest long-term renewal

7.7
court-proven no-logs audit open source
intro $2.03 /month
United States commercial vpn 7 h ago