Mysterium Network (MYST residential dVPN)
Verified live 2026-09-27 (now branded 'Open Web Protocol'). Longest-running dVPN; node quality/abuse problems are real; payments in MYST.
Verified live 2026-09-27: $399 hardware (Deeper Connect device) replaces subscription - you pay upfront for a router-node; earn DPR by sharing bandwidth.
by the vpncomparison editorial desk · review version 1 · prose updated 2026-09-28 · facts as of 2026-09-27 · how we verify
Deeper Network is a decentralized virtual private network (dVPN) that operates through physical hardware devices - Deeper Connect routers - sold upfront for $399. It's not a traditional subscription service; instead, you buy the device and earn DPR tokens by sharing your bandwidth. Based in the United States with unclear jurisdictional confidence, it positions itself as a peer-to-peer network, but core privacy claims lack public verification.
Deeper Network does not publish a clear logging claim, and no evidence - such as audits, court tests, or technical documentation - supports any no-logs assertion. There is no warrant canary, and the jurisdiction (United States) carries high surveillance risks, especially for a hardware-based network handling user traffic. Without transparency on data handling, you must assume logs could be collected, with no public mechanism to verify otherwise.
There is no recurring subscription fee - access is gated by purchasing $399 hardware. While this avoids renewal price hikes, the upfront cost is extreme compared to standard VPNs. No refund period, contract terms, or free trial are disclosed. You pay once, but that "one-time" cost equals years of even premium VPN subscriptions, with no guarantee of service longevity or return.
The service lacks standard privacy features: no kill switch, split tunneling, multihop, or support for P2P and streaming. Protocols and obfuscation methods are not documented, and server counts or country coverage are unknown. It does not support Tor over VPN or open-source verification. Performance and reliability claims are untested and unverified, with no independent data on speed or uptime.
Ownership of Deeper Network is not disclosed, and the project lacks verifiable background information. No incidents are reported, but with minimal transparency and no community ownership, accountability is absent. The data quality is "reported," not verified, meaning core facts - including operational integrity and network security - remain unconfirmed. No external voices or audits provide credibility.
Deeper Network does not document any obfuscation techniques. Without confirmed methods to disguise traffic, this tool is not suitable for use in highly censored environments like China, Iran, or Russia. Relying on it for censorship circumvention would be risky, as there is no evidence it can bypass deep packet inspection or state-level blocking.
Avoid unless you fully understand the risks of unverified hardware-based dVPNs. The $399 upfront cost, lack of logging transparency, and absence of core security features make it a poor choice for privacy-conscious users. The money trail is unclear - no affiliate program is disclosed, but the model relies on hardware sales and token incentives, not user privacy as a priority.
| Intro price | $0 /month |
|---|
See the 3-year total next to the marketing number: true-cost calculator →
affiliate status not verified yet
If we sign up for this program, every link here becomes rel="nofollow sponsored" and this box stays. Until then our links are plain redirects with zero tracking. Ranking logic physically cannot read affiliate fields - here is the proof.
Before you pay: check the renewal price, the refund window, and whether a cheaper or free path covers your use case - the honest checklist.
Based on our checks as of 2026-09-27: Deeper Network / Deeper Connect (hardware DPN + DPR token) scores 4.9/10 in our weighted review. We logged no red flags. User reports, ownership and the incident record are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.
A Deeper Connect hardware device that acts as a router and node in their dVPN network, allowing you to share bandwidth and earn DPR tokens. No subscription is needed, but all features and privacy claims are unverified.
There is no renewal fee - just the $399 upfront hardware cost. However, this one-time payment equals the 3-year total, with no refunds or service guarantees beyond device ownership.
There is no logging claim published, and no evidence - audits, court cases, or technical reviews - supports any no-logs assertion. The logging status is entirely unverified and should be treated as high risk.
Unknown - no obfuscation methods are documented, and there is no evidence it can bypass state-level censorship. It should not be relied upon in high-surveillance or heavily censored regions.
The site accepts fiat payments, but anonymous signup and KYC policies are not disclosed. Without crypto options or privacy-preserving onboarding, true financial anonymity is unlikely.
You keep the hardware, but its functionality depends entirely on Deeper Network’s active network and token ecosystem. If the project fails, the device may become a basic router with no dVPN or earning capability.
Consider Mullvad or IVPN - both are independent, transparent, and charge flat monthly fees with no long-term traps. For free options, Proton VPN’s free tier offers limited but audited, no-logs service without hardware lock-in.
Verified live 2026-09-27 (now branded 'Open Web Protocol'). Longest-running dVPN; node quality/abuse problems are real; payments in MYST.
Verified live 2026-09-27; site cites ~$0.033/day style pay-per-use. Largest real dVPN ecosystem (Cosmos SDK chain, client apps), quality varies per node.
Mesh-ISP protocol (routers pay routers per GB) - the most technically credible dVPN-adjacent deployment; consumer exposure limited to Althea-powered local ISPs.
No comments yet - be the first. Posting runs a short proof-of-work in your browser (anti-spam), no account needed.